Finding Journal Articles
To find journal articles about an architect, site or environmental issues you will need to look in sources that index journal articles by subject. These indexes are available via SuperSearch.
Your search should result in a list of journal articles on your topic.
To locate the articles, click on the Find it button against each entry.
The EDFAA Reference Librarian can advise you on choosing the appropriate indexes for your assignment topic and provide instruction on using indexes. Some useful indexes include:
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals

Covers architecture in its broadest sense including archaeology, historic preservation, decorative arts, interior decoration, furniture, landscape architecture and urban planning and environmental studies. - Australian Architecture Database

Indexes articles from materials held by the Stanton Library, North Sydney Council. Subject coverage includes articles on Australian architects, architecture, building, interior design and landscape architecture. - Australian Heritage Bibliography (via Informit)

Indexes articles on Australia's natural and cultural environment. See more information for subject coverage. - CAB Abstracts

International coverage for agricultural, veterinary, forestry and applied sciences, nutrition, biotechnology, genetics and microbiology - Agricola (via Ovid)

Covers journal literature in the area of agriculture and related sciences from 1970 to present. - Geobase

Covers worldwide research literature in physical and human geography, earth and environmental sciences, ecology, and related disciplines from 1980 to the present.
Finding books, studies and reports
To find books about an architect or a concept (eg sustainable cities) in the UWA Library begin with a keyword search in the Library Catalogue. As you are browsing through the list of books, look at the Subject Headings listed in each catalogue entry. Click on the links to relevant Subject Headings.
Most landscape architecture books are in the area 712 (or Q712) on the shelves. Books on Australian landscape architecture are under 712.0994 (or Q712.0994). Books on environmental design are mainly in 711 and 720-729 (or Q711 and Q720-729) areas.
Finding Journals
Landscape architecture journals are located mainly in the P712 area on the shelves. Australian landscape architecture journals are:
- Kerb : journal of landscape architecture - Melbourne : Dept. of Policy, Planning & Landscape, Faculty of Environmental Design & Construction, RMIT University, 1995
Call Number: EDFAA P 712.05 P6
v. : ill. ; 30 cm - Landscape Australia - Mont Albert, Victoria : Landscpe Publications
Call Number: EDFAA P 712.05 P1
no : ill ; 28 cm
Official journal of the Australian Institute of Landscape Architects
Reference Books
The specialised dictionaries and encyclopedias in the EDFAA Reference Collection can provide you with definitions and introductory information. Some useful items include:
Encyclopedia of gardens : history and design - Candice A. Shoemaker
Call Number: EDFAA R 712.03 2001 ENC
ISBN/ISSN: 1579581730
3 v. (xxi, 1545 p.), [36] p. of col. plates : ill. (some col.) ; 29 cm
Time-saver standards for landscape architecture : design and construction data - co-editors, Charles W. Harris, Nicholas T. Dines ; assistant editor, Kyle D. Brown
Call Number: EDFAA 712.0218 1998 TIM
ISBN/ISSN: 0070170274
1 v. (various pagings) : ill. ; 29 cm
The professional practice of landscape architecture : a complete guide to starting and running your own firm - Walter Rogers
Call Number: EDFAA Q 712.068 1997 PRO
ISBN/ISSN: 0442019645
xvi, 422 p. : ill. ; 30 cm
Dictionary of landscape architecture and construction - Alan Jay Christensen
Call Number: EDFAA R 712.03 2005 DIC
ISBN/ISSN: 0071441425
ix, 479 p. : ill. ; 25 cm
The Dictionary of Landscape Architecture and Construction defines the wide range of terms used in this diverse field. More than 7500 terms and definitions facilitate communication among professionals of all stripes and workers of all types. This tool crosses the disciplines, skills, and crafts of the range of professionals who contribute to landscape architecture today. In addition, 300 illustrations clearly exemplify construction and/or composition landscape elements.
Landscape architecture sourcebook : a guide to resources on the history and practice of landscape architecture in the United States - Diana Vogelsong
Call Number: EDFAA R 712.016 1997 LAN
ISBN/ISSN: 0780801962
<1 > ; 24 cm
Dictionary of today's landscape designers - Pierluigi Nicolin, Francesco Repishti
Call Number: EDFAA R 712.03 2003 DIC
ISBN/ISSN: 8884914205
347 p. : ill. (some col.) ; 22 cm- Dictionary of landscape : a dictionary of terms used in the description of the world's land surface - George A. Goulty
Call Number: EDFAA R 712.03 1991 DIC
ISBN/ISSN: 1856282147
vi, 309 p. ; 24 cm
Internet Resources
There are Internet resources that can provide you information about landscape architecture. In particular, the internet can be a useful resource for finding information about current projects. For local information, check www.planning.wa.gov.au, for general information check http://architecture.about.com/
Remember you must evaluate the quality, relevance and reliability of any information you find on the World Wide Web.
Description
Loading content... please wait






Loading content... please wait