Books/eBooksConference Papers & ProceedingsJournal Articles: In PrintJournal Articles: Online SourcesMultimedia FormatsNewspapersStandards & PatentsTables, Figures & ImagesThesesWeb Sources
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

APA Referencing  Tags: citation referencing undergrad postgrad  

A guide to using the APA referencing system for in text citations and Reference lists.
Last update: Oct 18th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.library.uwa.edu.au/apa  Print Guide  RSS Updates

All Examples            Print Page
  
 

Complete list of examples

Print this page for a complete list of examples.

Books and eBooks

Material Type

In-Text Citation

Reference List Entry

Book: Single Author (Skevington, 1995)
Skevington, S. (1995). Psychology of pain. Chichester, England: John Wiley & Sons.
Book: Two Authors

(Komar & Buikstra, 2008)

Komar, D. A., & Buikstra, J. E. (2008). Forensic anthropology: Contemporary theory and practice. Oxford: Oxford University Press.
Book: 3-5 Authors

[Cite all authors the first time the reference occurs]

(Sargent, Nilan & Winter, 1997)

[In subsequent citations include only the surname of the first author followed by et al.]

(Sargent, et al., 1997)

Sargent, M., Nilan, P., & Winter, G. (1997). The new sociology for Australians (4th ed.). Melbourne: Longman Australia.

Book: – 6 or More Authors

(Jones, et al., 1984)

Jones, E., Farina, A., Hastorf, A., Markus, H., Miller, D., & Scott, R. (1984). Social stigma: The psychology of marked relationships. New York: W. H. Freeman.
Book: Different Editions

(Howitt & Cramer, 2008)

Howitt, D., & Cramer, D. (2008). Introduction to research methods in psychology (2nd ed.). Harlow, England: FT Prentice Hall.
Book: No Author

(The Australian Oxford dictionary, 1999)

The Australian Oxford dictionary (3rd ed.). (1999). Melbourne: Oxford University Press.
Book: Editor (Hallinan, 2006) Hallinan, M. T. (Ed.). (2006). Handbook of the sociology of education. New York: Springer.
Book: 2 or More Editors (Binstock & George, 1990)

Binstock, R. H., & George, L. K. (Eds.). (1990). Handbook of aging and the social sciences (3rd ed.). New York: Academic Press.

Book: Organisation as Author (Australian Bureau of Statistics, 1991)

Australian Bureau of Statistics. (1991). Estimated resident population by age and sex in statistical local areas, New South Wales, June 1990 (No. 3209.1). Canberra, Australian Capital Territory: Author.

[Where the author and publisher are identical, use the word Author as the name of the publisher.]

Book: Chapter or Article in Edited Book

(Hine, 2001)

Hine, C. (2001). Ethnography in the laboratory. In D. N. Gellner & E. Hirsch (Eds.), Inside organizations: Anthropologists at work (pp. 61-76). Oxford: Berg.

eBook: Entire Book

(O’Keefe, n.d.)

O’Keefe, E. (n.d.). Egoism & the crisis in Western values. Available from http://www.onlineoriginals.com/showitem.asp?itemID=135

eBook: Chapter

(Mitchell, 1913)

Mitchell, H. W. (1913). Alcoholism and the alcoholic psychoses. In W. A. White & S. E. Jelliffe (Eds.), The modern treatment of nervous and mental diseases (Vol. 1, pp. 287-330). Retrieved from PsycBOOKS database.

Book: Different Works by Same Author in Same Year

[Distinguish the works by placing ‘a’ ‘b’ ‘c’, etc after the publication date]

(Glenn & Johnson, 1964a)
(Glenn & Johnson, 1964b)

Glenn, W. H. & Johnson, D. A. (1964a). Graphs. London: Murray.

Glenn, W. H. & Johnson, D. A. (1964b). Calculating devices. London: John Murray.

Conference Proceedings

Material Type

In-Text Citation

Reference List Entry

Paper from Conference Proceedings: Printed

(Wilkinson, 1999)

Wilkinson, R. (1999). Sociology as a marketing feast. In M. Collis, L. Munro, & S. Russell (Eds.), Sociology for the New Millennium. Papers presented at The Australian Sociological Association, held at Monash University, Melbourne, 7-10 December (pp. 281-289). Churchill, Victoria: Celts.
Paper from Conference Proceedings: Electronic (Balakrishnan, 2006) Balakrishnan, R. (2006, 25-26 March). Why aren't we using 3d user interfaces, and will we ever? Paper presented at the IEEE Symposium on 3D User Interfaces. Retrieved December 19, 2008, from IEEE Xplore.
Conference Papers: Unpublished (Brown & Caste, 1990) Brown, S., & Caste, V. (2004, May). Integrated obstacle detection framework. Paper presented at the IEEE Intelligent Vehicles Symposium, Detroit, MI.

Journal Articles

Material Type

In-Text Citation

Reference List Entry

Journal Article in print (Kyratsis, 2004) Kyratsis, A. (2004).Talk and interaction among children and the co-construction of peer groups and peer culture. Annual Review of Anthropology, 33(4), 231-247.
Journal Article in print with direct quotation

[if you quote directly from a source, page number(s) are required in the in text citation.]

(Hanna, 2007, p. 2049)

Hanna, K. (2007). Adsorption of aromatic carboxylate compounds on the surface of synthesized iron oxide-coated sands. Applied Geochemistry, 22(9), 2045-2053.
Journal Article in print

[see Books/Ebooks for examples of how to treat articles with different numbers of authors.]

(Zhang, Cohen, Ferrence, & Rehm, 2006) when citing for the first time
OR (Zhang et al., 2006) if citing subsequently.

Zhang, B., Cohen, J., Ferrence, R., & Rehm, J. (2006). The impact of tobacco tax cuts on smoking initiation among Canadian young adults. American Journal of Preventive Medicine, 30(6),474-479.
Journal Article with DOI supplied

(Stultz, 2006)

Stultz, J. (2006). Integrating exposure therapy and analytic therapy in trauma treatment. American Journal of Orthopsychiatry, 76(4), 482–488. doi:10.1037/0002-9432.76.4.482

Journal Article with no DOI supplied, only available with Pheme or Library authentication, - if Journal Homepage is available (Hager, 2007)

Hager, M. H. (2007). Therapeutics diet order writing: Current issues and considerations. Topics in Clinical Nutrition, 22(1), 28-36. Retrieved from http://www.topicsinclinicalnutrition.com

Journal Article with no DOI supplied, only available with Pheme or Library authentication, - if Journal Homepage is not available (Ostrowski & Bomsztyk, 2003)

Ostrowski, J., & Bomsztyk, K. (2003). Nuclear shift of hnRNP K protein in neoplasms and other states of enhanced cell proliferation. British Journal of Cancer, 89(8), 1493-1501. Retrieved May 13, 2008, from Web of Science.

Journal Article with no DOI supplied that is freely available on the Web (Sillick & Schutte, 2006)

Sillick, T. J., & Schutte, N. S. (2006). Emotional intelligence and self-esteem mediate between perceived early parental love and adult happiness. E-Journal of Applied Psychology, 2(2), 38–48. Retrieved from http://ojs.lib.swin.edu.au/index.php/ejap/article/view/71/100

Journal article from CMO database

(Rogers, Kuiper & Kirkerr, 1997)
when citing for the first time.

OR

(Rogers, et al., 1997) if citing subsequently.

[see Books/Ebooks for examples of how to treat articles with different numbers of authors.]

Rogers, T., Kuiper, N., & Kirker, W. (1997). Self-reliance and the encoding of personal information. Journal of Personality and Social Psychology, 35(9), 677-688. Retrieved September 26, 2006, from the University of Western Australia Course Materials Online database.

Multimedia Formats

Material Type

In-Text Citation

Reference List Entry

Films or Videorecordings and DVDs of Films.

(De Heer & Djigrr, 2007) De Heer, R. (Director), & Djigirr, P. (Co-Director). (2007). Ten canoes [Motion picture]. Australia: The AV Channel.

Television Programme
(Crystal, 1993) Crystal, L. (Executive Producer). (1993, October 11). The MacNeil/Lehrer news hour [Television broadcast]. New York and Washington, DC: Public Broadcasting Service.
Audio Podcast

(Van Nuys, 2007)

Van Nuys, D. (Producer). (2007, April 7). The anatomy of a lobotomist [Show 84]. Shrink Rap Radio. Podcast retrieved from http://www.shrinkrapradio.com/

Video Podcast (Kloft, 2006) Kloft, M. (Producer/Director). (2006). The Nuremberg Trials
[Motion picture]. In M. Samuels (Executive Producer), American
experience. Podcast retrieved from WGBH: http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/amex/rss/podcast_pb.xml
Music Track from an Album

(Shocked, 1992)

Shocked, M. (1992). Over the waterfall. On Arkansas Traveller [CD]. New York: Polygram Music.

[General format: Writer, A. (date of copyright). Title of song On Title of album [Medium of recording e.g. CD, DVD, record etc]. Location: Label.]

Recording by Artist other than Writer

(Goodenough, 1982)

Goodenough, J.B. (1982). Tails and trotters [Recorded by G. Bok, A. Mayo, & E. Trickett]. On And so will we yet [CD]. Sharon, CT: Folk-Legacy records. (1990)

[General format: Writer, A. (date of copyright). Title of song [Recorded by artist if different from writer]. On Title of album [Medium of recording e.g. CD, DVD, record etc]. Location: Label. (Recording date if different from copyright date)]

Video Blog Post

(Norton, 2006)

Norton, R. (2006, November 4). How to train a cat to operate a light switch [Video file]. Video posted to http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vja83KLQXZs

Newspapers

Material Type

In-Text Citation

Reference List Entry

Newspaper: Print

(Hatch, 2006)

Hatch, B. (2006, July 13). Smoke lingers for those who keep hospitality flowing. Australian Financial Review, p. 14.
Newspaper: From Website

(Hilts, 1999)

Hilts, P. J. (1999, February 16). In forecasting their emotions, most people flunk out. The New York Times. Retrieved from http://www.nytimes.com

[Some online newspapers are unpaginated, so no page numbers can be given in the reference]

Newspaper: From Electronic Database

(O’Leary, 2006)

O'Leary, C. (2006, June 29). Landmark study to aid push for public smoking ban. The West Australian, p.14. Retrieved October 20, 2008, from Factiva.
Newspaper Article: No Author

[use first few words of article title in quotation marks]

("Comstock drill plans," 2009)

Comstock drill plans reined in. (2009, January 9). Upstream: The International Oil and Gas Newspaper. p. 20.

Standards & Patents

Material Type

In-Text Citation

Reference List Entry

Standard: Retrieved from a Database

(Standards Australia, 2008) Standards Australia. (2008). Personal flotation devices – General requirements (AS 4758.1-2008). Retrieved December 1, 2008, from Standards Australia Online database.
Standard: Published

(Standards Australia/New Zealand Standard, 1994)

Standards Australia. (1994). Information Processing - Text and office systems - Office Document Architecture (ODA) and Interchange format: Part 10: Formal Speicifcations (AS/NZS 3951.10:1994). Homebush, NSW: Standards Australia.
Patent

(U.S. Patent No. 5,641,424.7 )

Hornak, P. Resonator for Magnetic Resonance Imaging of the Ankle. U.S. Patent No. 5,641,424.7 Aug. 1996.
Patent Retrieved from a Database

(Australian Patent No. AU 2008100919, 2008)

Clark, J. M. & McCallum, J. M. (2008). Method for and composition of excipient suitable for use in herbal formulations and formulations derived therefrom. Australian Patent AU 2008100919. Retrieved December 8, 2008, from SciFinder Scholar.

Theses

Material Type

In-Text Citation

Reference List Entry

Thesis: Unpublished

(Hos, 2005) Hos, J. (2005). Mechanochemically synthesized nanomaterials for intermediate temperature solid oxide fuel cell membranes. Unpublished PhD Thesis, University of Western Australia, Crawley.

Thesis: Published

(May, 2007)

May, B. (2007) A survey of radial velocities in the zodiacal dust cloud. Bristol, UK: Canopus Publishing.

Thesis: Rerieved from a Database

(Baril, 2006)

Bari, M. (2006). A distributed conceptual model for stream salinity generation processes : A systematic data-based approach.Retrieved from Australasian Digital Theses Program. (WU2006.0058).

Web Sources

Material Type

In-Text Citation

Reference List Entry

Webpage

(Australian Psychological Society, 2008) Australian Psychological Society. (2008). Substance abuse: Position statement. Retrieved December 2, 2008, from http://www.psychology.org.au/publications/statements/substance/
Webpage: No Author

(Improve indigenous housing, 2007)

[Use the first few words of the page title]

Improve indigenous housing now, governments told. (2007). Retrieved February 8, 2009 from http://www.architecture.com.au/i-cms?page=10220

Webpage: No Date

(Jones, n.d.)
Jones, M.D. (n.d.) Commentary on indigenous housing initiatives. Rerieved June6, 2008 from http://www.architecture.com.au
Webpage: No Author and No Date
Just put quotation marks around the words you're using, which the reader can use as a search string
Style list for references. (n.d.). Retrieved January 1, 2001, from http://www.apa.org

Discussion Forum

(Malissa, 2008) Malissa, A. (2008, October 2). Egypt planning DNA test on 3,500 year old mummy [#43]. Message posted to http://www.topix.com/science/anthropology/2008/05/egypt-planning-dna-test-for-3-500-year-old-mummy

Blog

(Brown, 2008) Brown, M. (2008, November 1). A royal pardon for the British witches? Message posted to http://www.worldhistoryblog.com/
Electronic Mailing List
(Anderson, 2005) Anderson, O. (2005, June 2). Re: Psychology of terrorism. Message posted to Theory Frankfurt School electronic mailing list, archived at http://archives.econ.utah.edu/archives/theory-frankfurt-school/2005w22/msg00000.htm
Wiki

(Sports Psychology, n.d.)

[use n.d. if no date of publication is given.]

Sports psychology. (n.d.) Retrieved December 2, 2008, from The Psychology Wiki: http://psychology.wikia.com/wiki/Sports_psychology

Tables and Figures

(see also 'In text presentation of tables and figures')

Material Type

In-Text Citation

Reference List Entry

A Table, or Figure, or Data you have used in a Table or Figure, which you got from another source in print.

For material reprinted from a journal article:
Note. From [or the data in column # are from] "Evaluating the effectiveness of best management practices using dynamic modeling." by D,. Ackerman and E.D.Stein, 2008, Journal of Environmental Engineering, 134(8), p. 629.

For material reprinted from a book:

Note. From [or the data in column # are from] Thermophysical properties of fluids p.113, by M.J. Assael, 1998, London: Imperial College Press.

Ackerman, D., & Stein, E. D. (2008). Evaluating the effectiveness of best management practices using dynamic modeling. Journal of Environmental Engineering, 134(8), 629-639.

 

Assael, M. (1998). Thermophysical properties of fluids. London: Imperial College Press.

A Table, or Figure, or Data you have used in a Table or Figure, which you got from another source on the web.

Note. From [or the data in column # are from] International Merchandise Imports, Australia, Jan 2009, Australian Bureau of Statistics.

Australian Bureau of Statistics. (2009). International Merchandise Imports Australia, January 2009 (No. 5439.0), Retrieved February 18, 2009 from http://www.abs.gov.au/ausstats/abs@.nsf/mf/5439.0?OpenDocument

Images

Material Type

In-Text Citation

Reference List Entry

Image: Cited in Text

(Van Gogh, 1888) Van Gogh, Vincent (Artist). (1888). Van Gogh's Chair [painting]. London: The National Gallery.

Image in a book that you refer to in your text

...the painting 'Mona Lisa' (Gombrich 1995, p. 203) ... Gombrich, E. H.(1995). The story of art (16th ed.). London: Phaidon.
Image from the Web

(originator, year image became available)

[if no author available, use the first few words of the image title, if no year avilable, write n.d. for no date].

Author or originator. (Year [if available, otherwise n.d.]). Description or title of image [image]. Retrieved Month date, Year from URL.
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait