Books/eBooksConference Papers & ProceedingsJournal Articles: In PrintJournal Articles: Online SourcesMultimedia FormatsNewspapersStandards & PatentsTables, Figures & ImagesThesesWeb Sources
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

APA Referencing  Tags: citation referencing undergrad postgrad  

A guide to using the APA referencing system for in text citations and Reference lists.
Last update: Oct 18th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.library.uwa.edu.au/apa  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Journal Articles: Online Sources            Print Page
  
 

Citing Journal Articles

Watch and listen to a short introduction to citing journal articles (audio required)


Loading Video Clip...
 

What's a DOI (Digital Object Identifier)?

A DOI is a unique identifier which acts as a persistent link to online objects such as journal articles on the web.

Most online journal articles available through UWA library databases have a doi.

You should copy and paste this alphanumeric string as part of your reference for an APA journal article that you view online. 

 

APA style guides

 More examples are available in the Publication manual of the American Psychological Association available from UWA library and the  APA style guide to electronic references available online via the UWA Library.

 
 

Online Journal Articles with DOI (Digital Object Identifier) Supplied

The DOI is usually with the author and title information. You may need to open the abstract or full text of an article to find it.

Author(s) surname, initial. (Year). The title of the article. Journal Title, Volume number(issue number), page numbers. doi: alphanumeric string.

In-Text Citation

Reference List Entry

(Stultz, 2006)

Stultz, J. (2006). Integrating exposure therapy and analytic therapy in trauma treatment. American Journal of Orthopsychiatry,
76
(4), 482–488. doi:10.1037/0002-9432.76.4.482

 

Online journal article with no DOI supplied that is available though a Library database .

If no doi is supplied your reference must include a retrieval statement.

If the home page of the Journal is available your retrieval statement includes the URL of the Journal home page.

Author(s) surname, initial. (Year). The title of the article. Journal Title, Volume number(issue number), page numbers. Retrieved from URL of Journal home page.

In-Text Citation

Reference List Entry

(Hager, 2007)

Hager, M. H. (2007). Therapeutic diet order writing: Current issues and considerations. Topics in Clinical Nutrition, 22(1), 28-36. Retrieved from http://www.topicsinclinicalnutrition.com

If no Journal home page is available your retrieval statement should include the date you retrieved the information and the name of the database through which you accessed it.

Author(s) surname, initial. (Year). The title of the article. Journal Title, Volume number(issue number), page numbers. Retrieved Month date, Year from Name of Database.

In-Text Citation

Reference List Entry

(Ostrowski & Bomsztyk, 2003)

Ostrowski, J., & Bomsztyk, K. (2003). Nuclear shift of hnRNP K protein in neoplasms and other states of enhanced cell proliferation. British Journal of Cancer, 89(8), 1493-1501. Retrieved May 13, 2008, from Web of Science.

 

Online journal article with no DOI supplied that is available freely on the Web.

Occasionally journals are freely available (i.e. you don't need your UWA ID number and pheme password or library barcode to access them). When this happens your retrieval statement gives the URL of the article you are citing.

Author(s) surname, initial. (Year). The title of the article. Journal Title, Volume number(issue number), page numbers. Retrieved from URL of article.

In-Text Citation

Reference List Entry

(Sillick & Schutte, 2006) Sillick, T. J., & Schutte, N. S. (2006). Emotional intelligence and self-esteem mediate between perceived early parental love and adult happiness. E-Journal of Applied Psychology, 2(2), 38–48. Retrieved from http://ojs.lib.swin.edu.au/index.php/ejap/article/view/71/100
 

Journal article retrieved from CMO

Journal articles from the Course Materials Online (CMO) database are referenced differently.

In-Text Citation

Reference List Entry

(Rogers, Kuiper & Kirkerr, 1997)
when citing for the first time.

OR

(Rogers et al., 1997)
if citing subsequently.

[see Books/Ebooks for examples of how to treat articles with different numbers of authors.]

 

Rogers, T., Kuiper, N., & Kirker, W. (1997). Self-reliance and the encoding of personal information. Journal of Personality and Social Psychology, 35(9), 677-688. Retrieved September 26, 2006, from the University of Western Australia Course Materials Online database.

Note: The APA 5th edition rule regarding inlcuding issue numbers only if each issue in a volume is separately paginated was revised when the separate rules for electronic sources was published. An issue number must be given if available.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait