Referencing
The Discipline encourages you to use the Oxford referencing style, although (depending on the lecturer) other styles are permitted as long as they are used consistently and accurately. Ask your lecturer if you are unsure about what style to use.
Online Resources
- Cambridge Histories Online
Provides full text online access to the complete 250-plus volumes of Cambridge Histories reference series. Provides political, economic and social history, philosophy and literature of selected countries and subjects - L'Annee Philologique

Since 1924 the print edition of L'Annee philologique has been the standard bibliography for classical studies. Indexing covers over 1500 journal titles. In addition conference papers and articles in collections are indexed. - New Pauly Online
Consisting of Der Neue Pauly and Brill's New Pauly (the English version of Der Neue Pauly), the German encyclopaedia of Classics and Ancient History is recognised as the standard work in the area. The Advanced search screen contains useful search tips. - Oxford Classical Dictionary
- Patrologia Latina Database

The Patrologia Latina Database contains a complete electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina (1844-1855 and 1862-1865), including all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indexes. - Thesaurus Linguae Graecae

The Online TLG contains more than 100 million words from 9,958 works associated with 2,314 authors and is constantly updated and improved with new features and texts. - JSTOR

JSTOR provides electronic full text of complete back sets of over a thousand major journals in a range of disciplines, including social sciences, business and economics.
- Tutorials - Periodicals Archive Online (PAO)

PAO provides full text to over 350 of the journals indexed in Periodicals Index Online. - Periodicals Index Online (PIO)

A database of millions of article citations in the arts, humanities and social sciences from the 18th Century to 1995. There is direct linking to Periodicals Archive Online where full text is available.
More Information
For additional resources, consult multidisciplinary databases
For information about primary sources, see Primary Sources Guide
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait