When One Author Cites AnotherWhen should you cite?
Citing a Specific Page
Act of ParliamentAIHW and ABS PublicationsBook - ChapterBook/eBook - 1-6 AuthorsBook/eBook - EditedBook/eBook - More Than 6 AuthorsBook/eBook - SectionClin-eguideCochrane ReviewConference Papers or ProceedingsDictionary - Print and OnlineDynamedFact Sheet - Print or OnlineFilm or BroadcastJournal Article - Print and OnlineLecture Notes and Personal CommunicationsPodcastReportThesis - Print and OnlineWeb pages
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Vancouver Citation Style  Tags: referencing medndent citation undergrad postgrad  

A guide to using the Vancouver citation style for in text citations and reference lists.
Last update: Nov 22nd, 2009 URL: http://libguides.library.uwa.edu.au/vancouver  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Dictionary - Print and Online             Print Page
  
 

Basic Format for Referencing Information From a Dictionary

 

Details to be recorded when you reference information from a print copy of a dictionary:

 

Dictionary title. Edition. City: Publisher; Year. Title; pages.    

 

 


Details to be recorded when you reference information from a dictionary you obtained online:

 

Dictionary title [type of medium]. Edition. City: Publisher; Year. Title. [Date of access]. Available from: Database.    

 


See below for further information about what to record in each of these elements of your reference.

 

Dictionary - Print/Library Database/Internet

Material Type

Reference List Example

EndNote X1

Using the Vancouver style downloaded from the Library Web Site

Dictionary

Dorland's illustrated medical dictionary. 29th ed. Philadelphia: W.B. Saunders; 2000. Filamin; p. 675.

Reference Type: Dictionary

Add dictionary title to the ‘Dictionary Title’ field.

Add [Internet] to the title field after the dictionary name if accessed online.

Add the definition term to the ‘Title’ field eg Filamin as shown in the reference example.

If accessed online add the 'Date of Access'.

Add name of Library-subscribed database, or URL if on the Internet, to the 'Name of Database' field.

From a Library-subscribed database.

Dorland's illustrated medical dictionary [Internet]. 29th ed. Philadelphia: W.B. Saunders; 2000. Filamin. [cited 2009 Feb 16]. Available from: Credo Reference.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait