When One Author Cites AnotherWhen should you cite?
Citing a Specific Page
Act of ParliamentAIHW and ABS PublicationsBook - ChapterBook/eBook - 1-6 AuthorsBook/eBook - EditedBook/eBook - More Than 6 AuthorsBook/eBook - SectionClin-eguideCochrane ReviewConference Papers or ProceedingsDictionary - Print and OnlineDynamedFact Sheet - Print or OnlineFilm or BroadcastJournal Article - Print and OnlineLecture Notes and Personal CommunicationsPodcastReportThesis - Print and OnlineWeb pages
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Vancouver Citation Style  Tags: referencing medndent citation undergrad postgrad  

A guide to using the Vancouver citation style for in text citations and reference lists.
Last update: Nov 22nd, 2009 URL: http://libguides.library.uwa.edu.au/vancouver  Print Guide  RSS Updates

All Reference Examples             Print Page
  
 

All Reference Examples

Print this page for a complete list of examples.

Material Type

Reference List Example

EndNote X1 Instructions

These instructions are for use with the Vancouver style that can be downloaded from the Library Web Site

Act of Parliament 

Act of Parliament accessed on the Internet Environmental Protection Act of 1986, WA [statute on the Internet]. c2002 [cited 2009 Apr 8]. Available from: http://www.slp.wa.gov.au/Index.html

Reference Type: Web Page

Add details to 'Year' field.

Add [statute on the Internet] to the 'Title' field after the name of the Act.

Add date of access to the 'Access Date' field.

Paste homepage URL of the web site into the 'URL' field.

AIHW and ABS Serial Publications on the Internet

AIHW (Australian Institute of Health and Welfare)

Australian Institute of Health and Welfare. Australian Hospital Statistics 2004-05 [Internet]. 2006 [cited 2009 Mar 25]; (AIHW cat. no. HSE 42). Available from: http://www.aihw.gov.au/publications/index.cfm/title/10305

Reference Type: Journal Article

Add [Internet] to the 'Type of Article' field.

Add catalogue number to the 'Issue' field.

Add the date you accessed the article in the 'Date Accessed' field (format is year month day).

Copy and paste the URL address into the 'Name of Database' field.

ABS (Australian Bureau of Statistics)

Australian Bureau of Statistics. National Health Survey: summary of results, Australia 2004-05 [Internet]. 2006 [cited 2009 Mar 16]; (ABS cat. no. 4364.0). Available from: http://www.abs.gov.au

Reference Type: Journal Article

Add [Internet] to the 'Type of Article' field.

Add catalogue number to the 'Issue' field.

Add the date you accessed the article in the 'Date Accessed' field (format is year month day).

Copy and paste the URL address into the 'Name of Database' field.

Books & eBooks

Chapter in a book (not an edited book)

Riffenburgh RH. Statistics in medicine. 2nd ed. Amsterdam (Netherlands): Elsevier Academic Press; c2006. Chapter 24, Regression and correlation methods; p. 447-86.

Reference Type: Book

In the 'Year' field insert a full stop after the year and add the chapter number and chapter title to this field. Do not end the field with a full stop.

Enter the page range of the chapter into the 'Number of Pages' field.

If it is a chapter in an eBook, construct reference as for the Book Section example.

Book - single author

Jenkins PF. Making sense of the chest x-ray: a hands-on guide. New York: Oxford University Press; 2005.

Reference Type: Book

eBook accessed from a library-subscribed database

Collins R. Differential diagnosis in primary care [Internet]. 4th ed. Philadelphia: Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2008 [cited 2009 Feb 1]. Available from: Books@Ovid

Reference Type: Electronic Book

Add [Internet] to the  ‘Type of Medium' field.

If year of publication is not indicated use year of last update or revision in the 'Year' field.

In the 'Publisher' field include in brackets the two letter state code for lesser known US/Canadian cities. For lesser known cities in other countries include the name of the country in brackets.

Include date of last update or revision in 'Last Modified Date' field if this information is available.

Add ‘Date of Access’ (format is: year month day)

In the ‘Name of Database’ field add the name of the Library database or the URL if accessed from the Internet.

eBook accessed from the Internet

Collins S, Kriss J, Davis K, Doty M, Holmgren A. Squeezed: why rising exposure to health care costs threatens the health and financial well-being of American families [Internet]. New York: Commonwealth Fund; 2006 [cited 2009 Mar 24]. Available from: http://www.cmwf.org/usr_doc/Collins_squeezedrisinghltcarecosts_953.pdf

Richardson ML. Approaches to differential diagnosis in musculoskeletal imaging [Internet]. Seattle (WA): University of Washington School of Medicine; 2007-2008 [revised 2007-2008; cited 2009 Mar 29]. Available from: http://www.rad.washington.edu/mskbook/index.html

Edited book Wester JG. Editor. Encyclopedia of medical devices & instrumentation. 2nd ed. Hoboken (NJ): Wiley Interscience; 2006.

Reference Type: Edited Book

If city of publication is a lesser known city add in round brackets the US/Canadian state, or country of publication if outside US.

Edited eBook accessed from a library subscribed database

Wolfson AB, Hendey GW, Hendry P, Linden CH, Rosen CL, Schaider J, et al., editors. Harwood-Nuss' clinical practice of emergency medicine [Internet]. 4th ed. Philadelphia: Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2005  [cited 2009 Mar 26]. Available from: Books@Ovid.

Reference Type: Edited Book

Add [Internet] into the 'Title' field.

Add the date you accessed the book into the Access Date field (format is year month day)

Add the name of the database to the Name of Database field or insert URL address if accessed an Internet site.

Edited eBook accessed from the Internet

Foley KM, Gelband H, editors. Improving palliative care for cancer [Internet]. Washington: National Academy Press; 2001 [cited 2002 Jul 9]. Available from: http://www.nap.edu/books/0309074029/html/.

Book - more than 6 authors

More than 6 authors: give the first 6 names in full and add "et al."

Phillips H, Rogers B, Bernheim KL, Liu H, Hunter PG, Evans J, et al. Community medicine in action. New York: Eastern Press; 2005

Reference Type: Book

Enter all authors in the 'Author' field. Each one on a separate line. EndNote will automatically limit to 6 and will insert et al.

Add title and other details the same as for a single author book.

eBook - more than 6 authors from a library database

Mulholland MW, Lillemoe KD, Doherty GM, Maier R, Upchurch GR, editors. Greenfield's Surgery: Scientific Principles and Practice [Internet]. 4th ed. Philadelphia: Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2006.  [cited 2009 Mar 27]. Available from: Books@Ovid.

Reference Type: Electronic Book

Enter all authors in the 'Author' field. Each one on a separate line. EndNote will automatically limit to 6 and will insert et al.

Add [Internet] into the 'Title' field.

Include date of update or revision in 'Last Modified Date' field if this information is available.

Enter date you accessed the book into the 'Date of Access' field.

Enter the name of the Library database or URL (if accessed on the Internet) into the 'Name of Database' field.

eBook - more than 6 authors from the Internet

Kasper DL, Braunwald E, Fauci AS, Hauser DL, Longo J, Jameson L et al., editors. Harrison's online [Internet]. 17th ed. Columbus (OH): McGraw-Hill Companies; 2008 [cited 2009 Mar 26]. Available from: http://www.accessmedicine.com/resourceTOC.aspx?resourceID=4

Clin-eguide

Clin-eguide

There are many different resources available in Clin-eguide. 

The publisher of Clin-eguide material is Wolters Kluwers Health.

Some of the information is in the form of eBooks and there are links to journal articles.

Determine the resource type and construct your reference accordingly.

Reference Type:
Choose according to the material type you have accessed.

Example reference of a section from a Wolters Kluwers Health eBook in Clin-eguide [no author statement]

Acetaminophen: prevention of adverse reactions with diphtheria, tetanus toxoids, and pertussis vaccination. In: Drug facts and comparisons. Facts & Comparisons 4.0. [Internet]. St. Louis (MO): Wolters Kluwer Health; 2009 [cited 2009 Apr 8]. Available from: Cline-guide.

Reference Type: Book Section

Omit author

Add [Internet] to 'Book Title' field.

Add date of access to 'Access Date' field.

Add Clin-eguide to 'Name of Database' field.

Cochrane Review

Cochrane Review Haynes R, Ackloo E, Sahota N, McDonald H, Yao X. Interventions for enhancing medication adherence. Cochrane Database Syst Rev [Internet]. 2008 [cited 2009 Mar 17]. Available from: http://mrw.interscience.wiley.com/cochrane/clsysrev/articles/CD000011/frame.html.

Reference Type: Journal article

In the 'Journal Title' field enter Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews.

In the 'Type of Article' field insert the word Internet (it will appear in closed brackets).

Add date accessed to 'Access Date' field

Paste the URL address (URL) into the 'Name of Database' field.

Conference Proceedings and Conference Paper

Conference Proceedings

Bruhat M, Silva Carvalho JL, Campo R, Fradique A, Dequesne J, Setubal A, editors. Proceedings of the 10th Congress of the European Society for Gynaecological Endoscopy; 2001 Nov 22-24; Lisbon, Portugal. Bologna (Italy): Monduzzi Editore, International Proceedings Division; c2001.

Reference Type: Conference Proceeding

In the 'Editor" field add the editor(s) of the conference proceedings.

Enter conference name, location and publisher details.

In the 'Date' field add the conference date.

Add 'Year Published' if known.

If accessed from an electronic source add the date to the 'Access Date' field (year month day)

In the 'URL' field add the URL if accessed from the web, or name of the Library database.

Conference Paper

Rice AS, Farquhar-Smith WP, Bridges D, Brooks JW. Canabinoids and pain. In: Dostorovsky JO, Carr DB, Koltzenburg M, editors. Proceedings of the 10th World Congress on Pain; 2002 Aug 17-22; San Diego, CA. Seattle (WA): IASP Press; c2003. p. 437-68.

Reference Type: Conference Paper

In the 'Author Field' enter the author(s) of the conference paper.

In the 'Year' field add the year of publication.

In the 'Title Field' add the title of the conference paper.

In the 'Editor" field add the editor(s) of the conference proceedings.

Enter conference name, location and publisher details.

Add page numbers to the 'Pages' field.

In the 'Date' field add the conference date.

If accessed from an electronic source add the date to the 'Access Date' field (year month day)

In the 'URL' field add the URL if accessed from the web, or name of the Library database.

Dictionary

Dictionary (hard copy)

Dorland's illustrated medical dictionary. 29th ed. Philadelphia: W.B. Saunders; 2000. Filamin; p. 675.

Reference Type: Dictionary

Add dictionary title to the ‘Dictionary Title’ field.

Add [Internet] to the title field after the dictionary name if accessed online.

Add the definition term to the ‘Title’ field eg Filamin as shown in the reference example.

If accessed online add the 'Date of Access'.

Add name of Library-subscribed database, or URL if on the Internet, to the 'Name of Database' field.

Dictionary from a library subscribed database

Dorland's illustrated medical dictionary [Internet]. 29th ed. Philadelphia: W.B. Saunders; 2000. Filamin. [cited 2009 Feb 16]. Available from: Credo Reference.

DynaMed

DynaMed

Dynamed Editorial Team. Churg-Strauss syndrome [Internet]. Ipswich (MA): Ebsco Publishing; 2009 [updated 2009 Mar 31; cited 2009 Apr 8]. Available from: DynaMed

If you link to another publication from Dynamed, such as a journal article, reference it according to its material type; eg. journal article, web page etc.

Reference Type: Electronic article

Add [Internet] to the 'Title' field.

Add place of publication and publisher details is known.

Add 'Last Modified Date' (if available).

Add date accessed to 'Access Date' field.

Add Dynamed to the URL field as it is a Library-subscribed resource.

Fact Sheet

Fact Sheet - print (if no author omit author details)

Fact sheet for the public: influenza and avian influenza (or "Bird Flu"). Canberra: The Department of Health and Ageing; 2005.

Reference Type: Book

Add 'Year' of publication if available.

Include 'Place of Publication' and 'Publisher' information if available.

Fact Sheet (accessed on the Internet)

(if no author omit author details)

Fact sheet: AIDS information resources [Internet]. Bethesda (MD): National Library of Medicine (US); 2003 May 2 [updated 2005 Jul 14; cited 2006 Nov 15]. Available from: http://www.nlm.nih.gov/pubs/factsheets/aidsinfs.html

Reference Type: Electronic Book

Add [Internet] to Title field.

Add 'Year' of publication if available.

Include 'Place of Publication' and 'Publisher' information if available.

Add 'Last Modified Date' if available (year month day)

Add 'Access Date' (year month day)

Film or Broadcast

Film or Broadcast The medical profession in the 1990s [television broadcast]. The MacNeil/Lehrer news hour. Washington (DC): Public Broadcasting Service; 1993 Oct 11.

Reference Type: Film or broadcast

Add year to 'Year Released' field.

Add television broadcast to the 'Medium' field.

In the 'Series Title' field type the name of the series eg. The MacNeil/Lehrer news hour.

Add the name of the city New York, to the 'Country' field.

Add the name of the distributor to the 'Distributor' field.

Add date released to 'Date Released' field.

Journal Articles

Journal article (print)

Petitti DB, Crooks VC, Buckwalter JG, Chiu V. Blood pressure levels before dementia. Arch Neurol. 2005 Jan;62(1):112-6.

Reference Type:
Journal article

No author (print) Pelvic floor exercise can reduce stress incontinence. Health News. 2005 Apr;11(4):11. Reference Type:
Journal article
Organisation as author (print)

Parkinson Study Group. A randomized placebo-controlled trial of rasagiline in levodopa-treated patients with Parkinson disease and motor fluctuations: the PRESTO study. Arch Neurol. 2005 Feb;62(2):241-8.

Reference Type:
Journal article
Issue with a supplement (print) Mastri AR. Neuropathy of diabetic neurogenic bladder. Ann Intern Med. 1980;92(2 pt 2):316-8.

Reference Type:
Journal article

Add supplement details to 'Issue' field.

Volume with a supplement (print) Frumin AM, Nussbaum J, Esposito M. Functional aspensia: demonstration of splenic activity by bone marrow scan. Blood. 1979;59 Suppl 1:26-32.

Reference Type:
Journal article

Add supplement details to 'Volume' field.

From a library subscribed database

Rockwood K, Graham JE, Fay S. Goal setting and attainment in Alzheimer's disease patients treated with donepezil. J Neurol Neurosurg Psychiatry [Internet]. 2002 [cited 2009 Mar 7];73(5):500-7. Available from: Journals@Ovid full text.

Reference Type:
Journal article

Add [Internet] in the 'Type of Article' field.

Add the date you accessed the article in the 'Access Date' field (format is year month day).

Include page numbers in 'Pages' field.

To the 'Name of Database' field add the name of the Library database eg. Journals@Ovid full text, or the URL of the journal's home page if access is not via a database.

From the Internet

Sanjay P, Kaveri H, Shivashankara A. Evaluation of salivary sialic acid, total protein, and total sugar in oral cancer: A preliminary report. Indian J Dent Res [Internet]. 2008 [cited 2009 Mar 23];19(4):288-291. Available from: http://www.ijdr.in/article.asp?issn=0970-9290;year=2008;volume=19;issue=4;spage=288;epage=291;aulast=Sanjay

Podcast

Podcast on the Internet

The wings of a butterfly - children, teenagers and anxiety [podcast on the Internet]. Sydney: ABC Radio National; c2005 [updated 2005 Sep 10; cited 2005 Sep 16]. Available from: http://www.abc.net.au/podcast/default.htm#mind

Reference Type: Electronic Book
(do not use Web Page as it does not have a Publisher field available)

Add [podcast on the Internet] to the 'Title' field following the title.

Add 'Publisher' and 'Place of Publication' if details are available.

Add date of last update to 'Last Modified Date' field if this information is available.

Add date of access to the 'Access Date' field.

Paste web address (URL) into the 'Name of Database' field.

Thesis

Thesis - print

Jones DL. The role of physical activity on the need for revision total knee arthroplasty in individuals with osteoarthritis of the knee [dissertation]. [Pittsburgh (PA)]: University of Pittsburgh; 2001.

Note: The place of publication for a thesis or dissertation is the city where the university or other institution granting the degree is located. Many dissertations do not state the place of publication. When this occurs, obtain the city name from another source and place it in square brackets.

Reference Type: Thesis

Add [dissertation] or [master's thesis] to the 'Title" field.

Thesis - accessed from a library subscribed database

Touma S. Analysis of retinoid signaling and metabolism in urologic cancers Ph.D. [dissertation on the Internet]. [New York]: Weill Medical College of Cornell University. [cited 2009 Feb 16]. Available from: Proquest Dissertations and Theses

Reference Type: Thesis

Add [dissertation on the Internet] or [master's thesis on the Internet] to the 'Title" field.

Add details to 'City' and 'University' fields.

Add date to 'Access Date' field (year month day).

In the 'URL' field add the  name of the Library database or paste the URL into this field if downloaded from the UWA Library web site or any other web site such as the British Library's Ethos site.

Thesis - accessed from UWA library catalogue

Mina K. Measurement of fish consumption in population-based studies of cancer [dissertation on the Internet]. [Perth (Australia)]: University of Western Australia; 2007 [cited 2009 Apr 4].  Available from: www.library.uwa.edu.au

Thesis - accessed from an Internet site

McConnell WD. Mediators of airway remodelling in asthma [dissertation on the Internet]. [Southhampton (England)]: University of Southhampton; 2001 [cited 2009 Mar 28]. Available from: http://ethos.bl.uk/OrderDetails.do?did=1&uin=uk.bl.ethos.288445

World Wide Web

World Wide Web page - organisation as author

Heart Foundation (AU). Information for carers [Internet]. Deakin, ACT (Australia): Heart Foundation (AU); 2008 [updated 2008 Oct 21; cited 2009 Apr  8]. Available from: http://www.heartfoundation.org.au/Heart_Information/Carers/Pages/default.aspx

National Heart Lung and Blood Institute (US). High blood cholesterol:  what you need to know [Internet]. Bethesda (MD): U S Department of Health and Human Services, National Institutes of Health; 2001 May [updated 2005 Jun; cited 2009 Apr 3]. Available from: http://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/public/heart/chol/wyntk.htm

Note: When citing organisations that are national bodies such as government agencies, if a nationality is not part of the name, place the country in parentheses after the name, using the two-letter ISO country code (see Citing Medicine,  Appendix D).

Reference Type: Electronic Book
(do not use 'Web Page' because publisher details cannot be entered)

Add [Internet] to the 'Title' field before the full stop.

Add date of last update to 'Last Modified Date' field if this information is available.

Add date of access to the 'Access Date' field.

Paste web address (URL) into the 'Name of Database' field.

World Wide Web page - organisation as author, no year/date of publication

National Heart Lung and Blood Institute (US). What is a heart attack? [Internet]. Bethesda (MD): U S Department of Health and Human Services, National Institutes of Health; [cited 2009 Apr 3]. Available from: http://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/actintime/aha/what.htm

Note: When citing organisations that are national bodies such as government agencies, if a nationality is not part of the name, place the country in parentheses after the name, using the two-letter ISO country code (see Citing Medicine,  Appendix D).

Report

Report - print Page E, Harney JM. Health hazard evaluation report. Cincinnati (OH): National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (US); 2001 Feb. Report No.: HETA2000-0139-2824.

Reference Type: Report

Insert a comma at the end of the publisher statement so that it displays correctly.

Use the 'Report' field to enter the report number.

Report accessed on the Internet

Byles J, Loxton D, Berecki J, Dolja-Gore X, Gibson R, Hockey R. Use and costs of medications and other health care resources: Findings from the Australian Longitudinal Study on Women's Health [Internet]. Australian Government Department of Health & Ageing; 2008 June. Report No.: 144 [cited 2009 Jul 30]. Available from: http://www.alswh.org.au/other_reports.php

Reference Type: Report

Add [Internet] to the Title statement.

Insert a comma at the end of the publisher statement so that it displays correctly.

Use the 'Report' field to enter the report number.

Use 'Access Date' field to enter the date you accessed the report on the Internet - this will become the 'cited' date.

Copy and paste the URL into the ‘URL’ field .

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait