Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Music 

This guide contains information about the Music Library, and details of resources that are useful to students of Music at UWA, including dissertations, databases and websites.
Last update: Jun 28th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.library.uwa.edu.au/music  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Introduction             Print Page
  

Useful UWA resources

  • Study Smarter  
      
    Study Smarter is UWA's learning, language and research skills centre. It offers advice, online and offline workshops, downloadable resources and much more!
 

Credits

Images in the banner for this guide, from left to right

Mix of sound by mawel (license)
Magic of sound
 by mawel (license)
My old guitar by lenbo
 (license)
The scroll
 by wisdoc (license)

 
 

The Music Library

Welcome to the Music Library

The Wigmore Music Library contains scores, performing editions of musical works, sound recordings, video recordings, journals and music reference books (dictionaries, encyclopedias, etc.).

Books about music (biographies of composers, history and theory of music, etc.) are housed in the Humanities and Social Sciences Library (HSS) in the Reid Library building (Dewey number 780).

Some music education books are also housed in the Education, Fine Arts and Architecture Library (EDFAA) located on the corner of Stirling Highway and Hampden Road, Nedlands..

The Library also subscribes to a number of online resources including Oxford Music Online and some collections of sound recordings and music scores.

 

Location and Background

The Wigmore Music Library is located in the north-east corner of the Crawley Campus and is a separate building on the ground floor of the School of Music. The Library supports the teaching, performing and research programmes of the School of Music and serves the wider University community as a music resource.

The Library was established in 1966 through the generosity of the late Mrs Alice Ivy Hay of Seaton, Aberdeen, Scotland in memory of her mother Alice Elizabeth Wigmore of Perth, Western Australia. Some music material had been incorporated into the University Library's collection during the early years of the University, and the nucleus of the collection was started in 1953 when Sir Frank Callaway was appointed as a Reader in Music.

 

The Collection

Scores are arranged in alphabetical order of composer. Each composer has a unique number which begins with the first letter of their name e.g. Chopin is C549, Schubert S384.
Sound recordings are arranged in a numerical sequence. You can find the number for the recording you need by looking in the Library catalogue

 

Finding Key Resources for Your Units

The Course Material Online (CMO) link on the Library web site gives you access to CMO lists for your units. CMO lists contain resources recommended by your lecturers – these may include online journal articles, book chapters, or links to books, music scores, sound recordings held in the UWA Library.

 

UWA Library News and Events


Loading RSS Feed...
 

The Music Library

Profile ImageThe Music Library
Contact Info:
Music Librarian:
Jenny Wildy
Telephone Number:
6488 3726
Email:
jwildy@library.uwa.edu.au

Inquiries Telephone Number:
6488 2055
Send Email

Find Us
Campus Map

Opening Hours
Opening Hours

 

Feedback bok

The Music library welcomes your comments!
Photobucket
________________________________
Feedback by institution of engineers
licensed under
Creative Commons
________________________________

Was this information helpful?
Not
useful
   Extremely
useful
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait