CompatibilityDownload EndNote Managing EndNote
ConnectionsFiltersStyles
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

EndNote User Guide  Tags: endnote referencing postgrad citation tools  

This guide outlines what the referencing software EndNote does and provides links to resources for learning about and using it.
Last update: Nov 19th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.library.uwa.edu.au/endnote  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Support Files            Print Page
  
 

Styles, Filters & Connections

EndNote uses a number of small configuration files.  There are three types:

File Function Folder name
Connection Files Allow you to connect to different databases or library catalogues Connections
Filter Files Allow you to import references from different databases.  Each database requires its own filter file Filters
Style Files Convert references into any format or style required Styles

 

In addition to the thousands of files provided by EndNote, the Library provides files that allow you to connect to databases and format your references to a required style.

When downloading files be sure to save them to where your EndNote program is installed. You will usually need to save to C drive/Program files/EndNote X1/ and then choose the styles, filters or connections folder as appropriate.These files must be copied into the appropriate folder.  Once they are in the folder EndNote will automatically include them.

 

Help with downloading

Usually left clicking on the file name or download will bring up instructions for saving.

If your web browser does not ask you to save, and instead displays the file as a page of miscellaneous text, try the following:

Mozilla Firefox users:

Right click click on the download link and select "Save Link As..."

Internet Explorer users:

Right click on the link and select "Save target as..".

Macintosh users:

1. Click on the link and hold your mouse button down for a few seconds until a menu appears.

2. Select "Download Link to Disk" or "Save link as..." .

Downloading from within the UWA Library

 

The computers within the UWA Library do not allow files to be saved to the hard disk. If you wish to download any filters or connection files from within the Library you will need to save them to a floppy disk or to a USB device.

 

The Offical EndNote Web Site

The EndNote home page is an excellent source of information about EndNote issues. The FAQs page of the site is particularly useful.

Checkout the searchable archives of the EndNote discussion list hosted by Adept Scienctific.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait