CompatibilityDownload EndNote Managing EndNote
ConnectionsFiltersStyles
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

EndNote User Guide  Tags: endnote referencing postgrad citation tools  

This guide outlines what the referencing software EndNote does and provides links to resources for learning about and using it.
Last update: Nov 19th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.library.uwa.edu.au/endnote  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Filters            Print Page
  
 

Index

 
 

What are Filters?

Filters allow you to search a database in the normal way and download the results into EndNote.

Filters convert the fields in a catalogue or database record into a form that can be recognised by the EndNote software.

EndNote comes preloaded with many filters. In addition the UWA Library has created or modified a number of filters to customise them for specific UWA databases.

Please review the Help with Downloading before downloading these files

 

Instructions for using Filters

  1. First make sure you have a filter for the database you wish to search. A number of filters are already set up in the EndNote Filters folder. However they may not work with UWA databases. Filters specific to UWA Library databases can be downloaded from the Download filters for UWA databases table. Save to a disk or to the EndNote filters folder.

  2. Conduct your search.

  3. Save your results in the format specified for the filter. These formatting instructions are included in the Download filters for UWA databases table.

  4. Save the results to a disk or a place on your hard drive where you can find them easily again.

  5. Open EndNote and your chosen library.

  6. Select File and then Import.

  7. Browse to your search results using the Choose file button.

  8. Find the appropriate filter using the pulldown menu in the Import option window.

  9. Click on Import.

 

Filters for Download

Make sure you download the filter into your Filters folder.  EndNote will automatically include the new filter.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait