Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Newspapers & News Sources  Tags: secondary_sources special_collections research news current_events historical_documents  

A guide to finding newspapers, news magazines and news sources, in print, on microfilm or online. It details both current and historical sources that you can access through the Library or on the web.
Last update: Nov 17th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.library.uwa.edu.au/newspapers  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Current News             Print Page
  

In Print

The Reid Library has a comfortable lounge area where you can sit, stretch out and browse various Australian and international print newspapers. The newspapers are updated daily and held for four weeks.

newspaper lounge

Titles include:

  • The Age  
  • The Australian  
  • Sydney Morning Herald  
  • The West Australian  
  • Renmin Ribao (Beijing)  
  • Straits Times (Singapore)  
 

Online Databases

  • Factiva  
      
    Factiva provides full text access to newspaper and magazine items from over 8,000 sources in 22 languages and from 118 countries. It includes a wide range of Australian newspaper titles, including Fairfax and News Limited papers.
  • EBSCO Newspaper Source  
      
    Newspaper Source contains selected full text for 245 regional U.S. newspapers, eighteen international newspapers, six newswires, nine newspaper columns, and cover-to-cover full text for The Los Angeles Times.
  • ProQuest 5000 International  
      
    This is a large multidisciplinary database with more than 60% of the titles in full text. It Indexes journal articles, magazine articles and newspapers, and combines international, national and regional newspapers and periodicals to make a core collection in business, general reference, and news. It is also very easy to search!
  • PressDisplay  
      
    Provides access to over 200 newspapers from more than 55 countries, displaying them in their original format and layout.
  • Australian Newspapers Online  
      
    An index of online Australian newspapers, including small and regional titles.
  • Newspapers.com  
      
    Find newspapers by region.
 

RSS Feeds

Many news sites offer RSS feeds to help you stay current. You'll find a small selection of them below.

If you're having trouble, or aren't certain what RSS is, check out our page on keeping up to date using RSS.

 

The West Australian


Loading RSS Feed...
 

ABC Top Stories


Loading RSS Feed...
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait