Finding Journal Articles
To find journal articles on a topic you will need to use the databases for Education which index journal articles by subject. Databases can be accessed through SuperSearch. SuperSearch enables you to search several databases simultaneously.
Alternatively, you may prefer to conduct your search using the module, Find Resource, where you can choose which databases you would like to search. Within Find Resource in Supersearch, select the Subject tab and from the list on the left, select Education.
Once you have performed a search and have a list of article citations look for the Find it @ UWA button, located to the right of the record. This button will link to the full text of the article or will provide a link to the Library catalogue where you can search for the article in print.
The EDFAA Reference Librarian can advise you on choosing the appropriate indexes for your assignment topic and provide instruction on using indexes. Some useful indexes include:
- A+ Education

Includes journal articles, monographs, research reports, theses, conference papers, legislation, parliamentary debates and newspaper articles. Articles and reports by Australian authors or about Australian education published in local and overseas sources - CBCA Education

A collection of approximately 750 Canadian education journals, as well as books, government and research reports, and graduate dissertations. Contains curriculum documents. - Education full text

Indexing for a wide range of education topics. Covers journals and yearbook articles. Also covers English language books published after 1994. - ERIC

The ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) database contains 1.1 million bibliographic citations to a broad collection of education-related resources. - ProQuest Education Journals

Offering complete information on hundreds of educational topics, this database covers almost 400 leading journals in the field including over 200 in full text.
Finding Books
To find books on a topic begin with a keyword search in the Library Catalogue. As you browse through the list of books, look at the subject headings listed in each catalogue entry. Click on the links to suitable subject headings in order to find more relevant books.
You can also search university library catalogues in Western Australia and beyond through the Library's website.
Reference Books
The specialised dictionaries and encyclopedias in the EDFAA Reference Collection can provide you with definitions and introductory information. Some useful items include:
Encyclopedia of education - James W. Guthrie
Call Number: EDFAA R 370.3 2003 ENC
ISBN/ISSN: 002865594X
8 volumes.
v. 1. A-C -- v. 2. D-G -- v. 3. H-J -- v. 4. K-M -- v. 5. N-P -- v. 6. R-T -- v. 7. U-Z -- v. 8. Appendixes. Index
Encyclopedia of language & education - David Corson
Call Number: EDFAA R 418.007 1997 ENC
ISBN/ISSN: 0792347137
8 v. ; 25 cm
v. 1. Language policy and political issues in education -- v. 2. Literacy -- v. 3. Oral discourse and education -- v. 4. Second language education -- v. 5. Bilingual education -- v. 6. Knowledge about language -- v. 7. Language testing and assessment -- v. 8. Research methods in language and education
Encyclopedia of multicultural education - Bruce M. Mitchell and Robert E. Salsbury
Call Number: EDFAA R 370.1170973 1999 ENC
ISBN/ISSN: 0313300291
viii, 304 p. ; 24 cmHandbook of research on teaching - Virginia Richardson
Call Number: EEDFAA Q 370.72 2001 HAN
ISBN/ISSN: 0935302263
xiii, 1278 p. : ll., 29 cm.
Routledge international companion to education - Bob Moon, Miriam Ben-Peretz and Sally Brown
Call Number: EDFAA 370 2000 ROU
ISBN/ISSN: 041511814X
xv, 1006 p. : ill. ; 26 cm
World education encyclopedia: a survey of educational systems worldwide - Rebecca Marlow-Ferguson, editor ; [associate editor, Chris Lopez]
Call Number: EDFAA R 370.3 2002 WOR
ISBN/ISSN: 0787655775
3 v. : ill. ; 29 cm
v. 1. Afghanistan-Hungary -- v. 2. Iceland-Rwanda -- v. 3. Saint Helena-Zimbabwe
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait