Cicago Citation Style Oxford Citation Style 
Admin Sign In 

Fine Arts Student Guide  Tags: arts edfaa fine_arts undergrad  

This is a guide to resources available to students enrolled in Fine Arts, including information on databases, referencing and locating images.
Last update: May 11th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.library.uwa.edu.au/fine_arts  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Introduction             Print Page
  
 

Dewey Numbers

Not sure where to look on the shelf?

700 The Arts, Fine & Decorative Arts
710 Civic & Landscape Art
720 Architecture
730 Sculpture
740 Drawing & Decorative Arts
750 Painting & Paintings
760 Graphic Arts, Printmaking & Prints
770 Photography & Photographs
 
 

Finding Books on Fine Arts

To find books about Fine Arts in the UWA Library begin with a keyword search in the Library Catalogue. As you are browsing through the list of books, look at the Subject Headings listed in each catalogue entry. Click on the links to relevant Subject Headings.

More options


Search other university library catalogues on our homepage . The State Library of Western Australia holds an extensive collection of local materials, some of which can be accessed online.

Finding Journal Articles on Fine Arts Topics

To find journal articles about an artist or work, you will need to look in sources that index journal articles by subject. These indexes are available via SuperSearch.


The EDFAA Reference Librarian can advise you on choosing the appropriate indexes for your assignment topic and provide instruction on using indexes.

Some useful indexes include:

  • Wilson Art Full Text  
      
    Indexes over 380 art periodicals and contains full text from 108 journals going back to 1997. Subjects include architecture, archaeology and the history of art, as well as crafts, costume and textiles.
  • Bibliography of the History of Art  
      
    Contains references to journal articles, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealers’ catalogues. Covers painting, sculpture, drawing, prints, architecture, decorative and applied arts, crafts, graphic arts, and folk and popular art
  • Academic Research Library  
      
    Contains information in the social sciences and the humanities. Over 2,300 journals indexed with approximately 1400 available in full text.
  • APA-FT : Australian Public Affairs (via Informit)  
      
    APA-FT provides access to the full-text of selected documents, including journal articles, from a number of Australian journals indexed in the APAIS (Australian Public Affairs Information Service) database.
    - Basic Searching
  • Periodicals Contents Index  
      
    Periodicals Contents Index is an electronic index to the contents of thousands of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences, from their first issues (as early as 1770) to 1995.
  • Nineteenth-century art worldwide  
      
    A project to republish on microfiche the English-language books and pamphlets of permanent research value published in all parts of the world except North America between 1801 and 1900. The index is available through the above link.
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait