About the School of Humanities
Social and Cultural Studies is a School within the Faculty of Arts, Humanities and Social Science (the others are Humanities and Music).
If you have any questions about your course the Faculty Student Office (ground floor of the Arts building) is a valuable source of information.
The very helpful staff can be contacted on 6488 2091 or arts-students@uwa.edu.au.
The School consists of 8 Disciplines all of which have a lot of very useful information on their webpages:
Quick Links
- New Books
- Course Materials Online
- CMO Student guide
- Study Smarter
Study Smarter is UWA's learning, language and research skills centre. It offers advice, online and offline workshops, downloadable resources and much more! - Endnote User Guide
- Newspapers and News Sources Lib Guide
About the Humanities and Social Sciences Library

Welcome to the Social and Cultural Studies Guide
The HSS Library is located in the Reid Library building (on the first, second and third floors). It supports staff and students of the Faculty of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences. The Loans Desk and Information Services Office are on the first floor as is the Reserve and Reference Collections.
The Loans Desk staff will answer questions about your loans whereas the librarians in the Information Services Office will help you find the information you need for your work.
Click on the tabs above to view guides for each of the Disciplines within Social and Cultural Studies.
Multidisciplinary Databases
These databases contain information on a wide range of subjects.
- Academic Search Premier (via EbSCOhost)

Indexes journal articles and magazine articles, many available as full text. - APA-FT : Australian Public Affairs (via Informit)

APA-FT provides access to the full-text of selected documents, including journal articles, from a number of Australian journals indexed in the APAIS (Australian Public Affairs Information Service) database.
- Basic Searching - Current Contents Connect (in Web of Knowledge)

A multidisciplinary current awareness service that provides access to tables of contents, abstracts and bibliographic information from books, conference proceedings, indexes approximately 6,600 journals publishing in a variety of disciplines. - Essay and General Literature Index (In WilsonWeb)

Indexes essays and chapters of edited books in the humanities and social sciences. Coverage spans the entire range of the humanities and social sciences, including literary works, art history, drama, and film. Index only. - Factiva

Factiva provides full text access to newspaper and magazine items from over 8,000 sources in 22 languages and from 118 countries. It includes a wide range of Australian newspaper titles, including Fairfax and News Limited papers. - Informaworld

(Formerly SARA)
There are over 980 full text scholarly journals in the Humanities and Social Sciences with good subject coverage in English and Communuication Studies. - Informit Search

Provides access to a wide range of journals and other publications with an Australian focus. Includes 3 eLibraries, 5 full-text databases, 81 journal indexes and 2 serials directories. Provides access to the full-text of selected documents, including journal articles, from a number of Australian journals indexed in the APAIS (Australian Public Affairs Information Service) database. - JSTOR

JSTOR provides electronic full text of complete back sets of over a thousand major journals in a range of disciplines, including social sciences, business and economics. - New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)

The full text of the New York Times from 1857 to the last five years - full text can be searched. - Periodicals Index Online (PIO)

A database of millions of article citations in the arts, humanities and social sciences from the 18th Century to 1995. There is direct linking to Periodicals Archive Online where full text is available. - Periodicals Archive Online (PAO)

PAO provides full text to over 350 of the journals indexed in Periodicals Index Online. - Project Muse

Project MUSE provides 100% full-text, online access to over 400 high quality humanities and social sciences journals from over 100 scholarly publishers. Every journal is heavily indexed and peer-reviewed, with articles by respected scholars in their fields. Click on Article Search once you are in the database which will take you to the Advanced search option. - ProQuest 5000 International

This is a large multidisciplinary database with more than 60% of the titles in full text. It Indexes journal articles, magazine articles and newspapers, and combines international, national and regional newspapers and periodicals to make a core collection in business, general reference, and news. It is also very easy to search! - Times Digital Archive (1785-1985)

The full text of the Times of London from 1785 to 1985 - full text can be searched. - Web of Science (in Web of Knowledge)

Enables researchers to track where, by whom, and how often an article has been cited. See more information for index coverage. - Wiley Interscience

Wiley interscience provides web-based access to publications from John Wiley & Sons, Inc and features over 1,000 journals and online books.
Need more help? |
HSS LibraryAsk a Question
Location: First Floor, Reid Library
Phone: 6488 1777
Send Email
Subjects:
Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences
Find Us
Campus Map
Opening Hours
Opening Hours 2009
Using the HSS Library
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait